DSX Access Control Company Profile

Brian Rhodes
Nov 30, 2015
IPVMU Certified
In this first entry in a new series profiling access control companies, we profile Kantech, one of Tyco's platforms. This will lead to an upcoming access control vendor comparison report. We examine ...

Read the full update here

JH
John Honovich
Dec 02, 2015
IPVM

Really??

What do they have on the mobile side?

(1)
(7)
UI
Undisclosed Integrator #1
Dec 02, 2015

Funny. We are a DSX dealer and their solution to a mobile app is to RDP to the commserver via your mobile phone.

(3)
(7)
Brian Rhodes
Dec 02, 2015
IPVMU Certified

I believe this is how they show off the system in their trade show booth as well.

They recommend these apps for 'iOS compatibility'.

(2)
UI
Undisclosed Integrator #2
Dec 02, 2015

Does it look like this?

DSX Mobile Platform

(5)
JH
John Honovich
Dec 02, 2015
IPVM

Low price or software from the 21st century - pick one...

EK
Edward Knoch
Dec 02, 2015

I was an old Fox Pro Rushmore database developer and this smacks of that application interface. Client / Server applications like these need to die a quick death - they are clumsy and do not take into consideration CUA (Common User Access). They are cumbersome and increasingly not supported under modern operating systems unless run in emulation mode. I made the transition to Security Sales / Consulting 10+ years from software development and am constantly amazed at the lack of refinement in the applications being pushed by "old-school" access control providers - ugly and somewhat unusable. I suppose, as an industry, we have just become "accepting" of this kind of crap. Come on - get with the times. It's probably 32bit as well - or possibly running in 64bit wrapper with 32bit calls under emulation. Sorry for my rant - just hate bad interfaces.

(5)
(1)
(1)
Luis Carmona
Dec 02, 2015
Geutebruck USA • IPVMU Certified

I'm with you, Brother Ed!

Ethan Ace
Dec 03, 2015