Subscriber Discussion

Q&A Discussion

Chris Peterson
Jul 25, 2018
Vector Firm

Folks:

If you missed the live session, or have a question that suddenly arose after the live session, please post it here.  I'm happy to answer them. 

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Chris 

(1)
(1)
Robert Cimino
Jul 25, 2018

Hello Chris,

I'm new to sales but I have a law enforcement background. I joined in the live session a short time after it started as you were discussing how selling has changed with the advent of Google, how prospects research purchases and the current importance  of the sales professional being regarded as the "perceived expert" .

The question that came to my mind during the session, was actually posed by another member of the class. It related to how to get started as a new sales professional in this field. If I got it correctly, you indicated that new sales professionals must exhibit confidence, get answers and bring the answers to the prospects/clients.

Looking forward to the upcoming classes.

Regards,

Bob Cimino

(1)
Sean Patton
Jul 25, 2018

Bob,

Would you mind if we posted this in the general discussion forums, as other users having been in a similar position to you may have some good feedback?

Thanks,

Sean

Chris Peterson
Jul 25, 2018
Vector Firm

Thanks Bob.  

The specific question was related to my advice to never say "I'm just a sales person.  Let me bring in the smart guys to answer that."  Like you, the questioner was new and didn't feel like he had the expertise yet to answer all the questions.  

As a new person, there is some flexibility.  However, do  your best to gather the answers for your customer and be the person that delivers the answer.  Here's why...