Subscriber Discussion

Alarm Motion Detector Tutorial

Ari Erenthal
Feb 22, 2017
Sensors designed to detect movement are a good way to protect large, open areas. In this tutorial, we examine motion detectors, including   X XX XXX XXXX   Overview When...

Read the full report here
UI
Undisclosed Integrator #1
Mar 06, 2017

The is one of the best articles on motion detectors I've read.  I've been using motion detectors for over 30 years and have experienced everything outlined here.  When pet immune motion detectors were introduced, I was skeptical at first but then found them to be suitable for just about most of my installs.  However, great care must be used when cats are involved.  You might as well consider cats to have wings when considering motion detectors. 

In the early days of pet immune detectors, one of my installs, with two cats in the home, used a pet immune PIR detector in a hallway that looked into an office.  I followed the manufacturer's instructions to the letter, but had a false alarm.  I returned to the job and relocated the detector on the opposite end of the hallway where it did not see into any other room, also masked off a few places on the lens.  I walk tested and the motion detector picked me up just fine.  No more false alarm since.

(3)
(3)
gf
guy fauquembergue
Mar 07, 2017

Good article, but what about outdoor pir detectors can we use IP enabled motion detectors particularly expensives or plug and play detectors triggering camera inputs (never easy to install due to the voltage). Best regards.

Brian Rhodes
Mar 07, 2017
IPVMU Certified

In my experience, outdoor PIRs can generate quite a few false alarms unless their detection sensitivity is adjusted to avoid tripping on animals and blowing trash.